• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,133 other subscribers

BACK TO SCHOOL

As much as I love summer, my birthday and summer vacation, there is something about going back to school that I have always enjoyed.  I think it is the newness of back to school.  New school clothes, new school supplies, new teachers all make for an exciting time as I remember my school years.  I’m not sure if students still cover their books but I remember that was a big deal the first week.  You got your books and then you have to cover them.  I remember the old Pee-Chee and for those who don’t know what that is – just think a folder.  We would add an Afro to the cheerleader and modify the Pee Chee while we sat in class.

Seems these days like everybody is doing a back pack drive, which is a great thing because those donations help level the playing field.  Going back to school can be expensive and school culture is rough if you don’t have the right clothes and right backpack.  Most kids have started school by now and having their back to school nights.  That night when you meet your child’s teachers, see the classes, ask questions, all while sitting in those little desks.

Best wishes for a successful school year to students, their parents, teachers, and administrators.  It will be the holidays before we know it and good luck to all the seniors applying to college.

Leave a comment